Wellesley Books Newsletter  
October 9th, 2019
   Events      Book Clubs       Bookseller Picks      New Releases      For Kids      Gifts 
Now that the weather's finally taken a turn for the autumnal, bundle up and celebrate #booktober by joining us downtown next weekend for the 2019 Boston Book Festival. With over two days of literary programming (and an appearance by a Wellesley Books alumna), there's a bit of something for everyone. If you haven't already done so, pick up a copy of this year's One City One Story selection, written by a supremely talented bookseller and MFA candidate, in our store prior to attending the annual discussion. And come say hi if you see a familiar face stacking the paperbacks at Emmanuel Church!
Upcoming Eventsevents

 
All events are free to the public, unless otherwise noted.
 Purchase the lead title  from Wellesley Books to enter the signing line .
 
 
Thursday, October 17th, 7:00 PM
Alex Speier tells the captivating story of the 2018 Red Sox in Homegrown. The culmination of nearly a decade of reporting from a rising star at the Boston Globe, Homegrown is a fascinating inside account and a meditation on how to build a winning team. This is a free event; however, we ask that you RSVP.
 
 

 
Friday, October 18th, 7:00 PM
Local children's author Elly Swartz launches Give And Take, a touching middle-grade novel about family, friendship, and learning. Twelve year-old Maggie struggles with an impulse to hoard after a series of destabilizing changes in her life. Ultimately, with some help from family, friends, and experts, Maggie learns that sometimes love means letting go. 
 
 
 
 
 
Tuesday, October 22nd, 7:00 PM
Join legendary travel writer Paul Theroux as he presents On the Plain of Snakes: A Mexican Journey. As he travels the length of the US-Mexico border and the back roads of Chiapas and Oaxaca, he uncovers the rich, layered world behind today's headlines and contentious debates. Click here to sign up for this ticketed event.
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday, October 23rd, 7:00 PM
Home cooks and Milk Street fans, rejoice! Transform your cooking with Christopher Kimball and Milk Street: The New Rules, a playbook of new flavors, new recipes, and new techniques. This revelatory cookbook defines 75 new rules of cooking that will dramatically simplify your time in the kitchen and improve your results. Click here to sign up for this ticketed event. 
 
 
 
 
  Thursday, October 24th, 7:00 PM
In Hungry, Esquire food critic Jeff Gordinier chronicles four years spent traveling with renowned Noma chef René Redzepi--with frequent visits from his merry band of friends--in search of the most tantalizing flavors the world has to offer. Hungry is a book about not only the hunger for food, but for risk, for reinvention, for creative breakthroughs, and for connection.
   
 
 
Wednesday, October 30th, 7:00 PM
New Yorker humorist John Kenney, author of the spot-on and mercilessly witty Love Poems for Married People, returns with Love Poems for People With Children. Kenney covers it all, from newborns, toddlers, and sleep deprivation, to the terrible twos, terrible tweens, and terrible teens.  
 
 
 
 
   
Book Clubs & Workshopsbookgroups
 
Highly Educated: A Book Club for Teachers & Librarians

Raina Telgemeier

Highly Educated, a new book club for teachers and librarians, will meet once a month to discuss a middle-grade or Young Adult book. Please contact our School Liaison Rachael Conrad to join!
 
 
Bill's Book Group for Guys

Julian Barnes
 
 Barnes' philosophical novella, winner of the 2011 Booker Prize, is, in the words of The Guardian, "a highly wrought meditation on ageing, memory and regret."

Join Bill's Book Group for Guys for a relaxed evening in the store discussing a specially-chosen book while enjoying a beer, glass of wine, or select single-malt whiskey.  $25 buys the book and a ticket to the event.

 
Betty's Lunchtime Book Group

Toni Morrison
 
 
Betty Sudarsky, unparalleled bookseller emerita and experienced book club leader, chooses each book carefully and leads the discussion. Bring your own lunch if you like; Betty supplies snacks, drinks, and insight. No need to sign up; drop-ins are welcome.
 

 
Teen Writers' Workshop

Join writing instructor (and children's book expert) Cassie Duncanson for a 90-minute workshop aimed at writers age 14 to 18. Classes began in September and will run monthly through June. To sign up, please contact Cassie.


 
Rachael's Book Club for Kids

Jen Wang

Rachael Conrad carefully curates choices for children ages 8-12 who love to read. Join her for a lively discussion about a new book every month. Parents, if your child would like to attend, please contact Rachael to reserve your spot!
 
Bookseller Recommendationsrecs
Tracy recommends:
The Beekeeper of Aleppo by Christy Lefteri
This novel captured my heart while shedding light on the Syrian refugee crisis through a blend of beautiful and devastating imagery. It is an incredible physical and emotional journey, told through dreams and memories, of two lives lost and found.  Full of tenderness and hope, the ending had me weeping in sorrow and in joy.
Gillian recommends:
How to Catch a Mole by Marc Hamer
In this charming and lyrical little book, a Welsh gardener eloquently juxtaposes the grim reality of authentic mole-catching with a celebration of the natural world and all its creatures. As he perfects the craft of ridding farmers of a destructive nuisance, he poetically contemplates the role of humanity in taming the world around us. He also teaches us a lot about moles!

Rachael recommends:
Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo
Galaxy "Alex" Stern, the only survivor of an extremely horrific and as-yet unsolved multiple homicide, is given a much-needed second chance when she is offered a full ride to one of the country's most prestigious (and notorious) universities. The catch? She'll have to keep a close eye on Yale's secret societies and the dark deeds that they get up to. Their occult activities are as dangerous as they are alluring and, with each passing day, Alex realized that not everyone is who (or what) they say they are. Ninth House is the best book that I have read in 2019 and I guarantee you'll be hooked from the very first page.

New In Hardcovernewreleases


The Topeka School
Ben Lerner

Grand Union
Zadie Smith

Frankissstein
Jeanette Winterson


How We Fight For Our Lives
Saeed Jones

Erosion
Terry Tempest Williams

Cilka's Journey
Heather Morris

Country
Michael Hughes

Full Throttle
Joe Hill

The Butterfly Girl
Rene Denfield

What Happens in Paradise
Elin Hilderbrand

She Was Like That
Kate Walbert

The Giver of Stars
Jojo Moyes
New In Paperback

The Library Book
Susan Orlean

Leadership in Turbulent Times
Doris Kearns Goodwin

These Truths
Jill Lepore

Killing Commendatore
Haruki Murakami

Gone So Long
Andre Dubus III

The Little Shop of Found Things
Paula Brackston

Nine Perfect Strangers
Liane Moriarty

Melmoth
Sarah Perry

A Well Behaved Woman
Therese Anne Fowler
Bookseller Recommendations For Young Readerskids
Colleen L. recommends:
Bernard Pepperlin by Cara Hoffman
Readers will fall into Bernard's story and hang on for his whole adventure! Fans of George Selden and Cynthia Rylant will welcome this cast of little creatures into their hearts and root for the underdogs as they go up against the cruel Pork Pie Gang. (The Libro.fm audiobook is also thoroughly delightful!)
New Books For Kids


A Tale of Magic
Chris Colfer

White Bird
R.J. Palacio

Dear Sweet Pea
Julie Murphy


The Best At It
Maulik Pancholy

Look Both Ways
Jason Reynolds

Estranged: The Changeling King
 Ethan M. Aldridge

New Books For Young Adults

The Fountains of Silence
Ruta Sepetys

The Beautiful
Renée Ahdieh

Rebel: A Legend Novel
Marie Lu

The Last True Poets of the Sea
Julia Drake

The Good Luck Girls
Charlotte Nicole Davis

The End and Other Beginnings
Veronica Roth
(signed copies available)

Angel Mage
Garth Nix

Cursed
Frank Miller & Thomas Wheeler

In the Hall With the Knife
Diana Peterfreund
Bookseller Recommendations For Young Adults 
Cassie recommends:
Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All by Laura Ruby
Best title of the year alert! For a book about a ghost with no memory and a girl left in an orphanage by her father amidst World War II, Thirteen Doorways is heartfelt and surprisingly relevant. The novel is compelling, not just because you are eager to uncover secrets of both past and present, but because the characters feel so achingly similar in the middle of a time and place that seems to be going up in flames.   

New in the Gift Department gifts

Put on your cozy socks, light a few candles, and write a note to your friend, or yourself.

Available for Pre-Order Now

The Starless Sea
Erin Morgenstern

Keeper of the Lost Cities: Legacy
Shannon Messenger

In The Dream House
Carmen Maria Machado
What We're Reading Now...
Colleen L.
Peter
Tracy
Lauren
Geoff
Alissa
Lorna
Rebecca
(comes out October 15th)
Peter
(comes out October 29th)
Prison Book Program
This week we hit a new Prison Book Program milestone: five full boxes donated! We, and the kind folks at the Prison Book Program, are truly impressed by the generosity of our community. Not familiar with our partnership? Click here to learn more about the Prison Book Program and to browse its wishlist--and thank you!

Dog of the Week
Elphie
 
Elphie is a four-year-old Shih Tzu and first-time visitor to Wellesley Books! She loves to chat, which is truly delightful as her voice sounds exactly like Blue from Blue's Clues. She loves apples for a snack and looks totally ready for apple picking in her chic New Yorker tote. Visit often, Elphie! 
 

Thank you for supporting your community
independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
Rebecca Stimpson

Contact us:
newsletter @wellesleybooks.com
82 Central Street,
Wellesley, Ma. 02482
781-431-1160

     View on Instagram   Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter