Wellesley Books Newsletter | December 21st, 2022
Extended holiday hours
9 a.m. to 9 p.m. December 21st, 22nd and 23rd
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. December 24th
Here we are in the home stretch: the busiest week of the entire year! If the holidays have gotten away from you this year, don't worry--we're always full of advice and recommendations and, from now through Friday, we're open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily.

What does it mean to give the gift of reading? In the hustle and bustle of late December, books can provide those elusive moments of rest and stillness. A well-chosen book makes its recipient feel seen and understood in a way that few other gifts can. As we prepare to leave 2022, we'd like to thank you for your support and good cheer over these last several years, and to wish you a merry Christmas, a happy Hanukkah, a joyous Kwanzaa, a peaceful Solstice, and a happy New Year. Through challenges large and small, personal and global, your choice to shop at an independent bookstore means that we're still here, doing what we love best.
**Please note that we won't be accepting used book trade-ins on December 24th. See you next week!**
Upcoming Events
Wednesday, January 11th at 7 PM (in-person)
Elinor Lipman, author of Rachel To The Rescue and Good Riddance, joins us to discuss her new novel, Ms. Demeanor (published December 27th), a delicious and witty story about love under house arrest—perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Maria Semple, and Linda Holmes.

"Ms. Demeanor is a complete and utter delight. Of course it is. What Elinor Lipman novel isn’t?"
–Richard Russo, author
Bookseller Recommendations
Tracy recommends:
The Light Pirate by Lily Brooks-Dalton
Set in the not-too-distant future in a Florida that has been reclaimed by nature, The Light Pirate follows the life of Wanda (named after the devastating hurricane during which she was born) from childhood to adulthood. All of the characters we meet along the way are complex and all are dealing with the catastrophic climate change in their own way. This story is equal parts beautiful and brutal. Filled with meaningful connections and heart-wrenching goodbyes, this story moved me to tears and reminded me of the resilience of human spirit.
Ashleigh recommends:
Hester by Laurie Lico Albanese
A beautiful and intricately woven story about a young woman's journey across oceans, through society's vicious and shifting mores, love, heartbreak, true friendship, and finding her way home. It gives us a vivid glimpse into life in Salem in the early 1800s as the town strides forward into the future while fleeing the wretched ghosts and legacies of its past. Splendidly written, vividly descriptive, and deftly winding together both micro and macro issues of the time, it shows us women's place in society, the Abolitionist movement, and the booming trade that made Salem thrive. I listened on Libro.FM and Saskia Maarleveld's mastery of accents, tension, and yearning was first-class.
Jerry recommends:
Happy-Go-Lucky by David Sedaris
This is an excellent collection of very personal, very funny essays. If you're familiar with David Sedaris's other work, you'll notice both similarities in theme and also a few darker (yet still funny) stories, especially when focusing on his father. If you're new to him or familiar with his work, you will enjoy Happy-Go-Lucky.
Elle recommends:
The Cloisters by Katy Hays
A secretive world of fate, museums and academia; I devoured this book! What happens when we rely too heavily on our destinies? Visit The Cloisters museum and find out for yourself!
What We're Reading Now...
Lia
Tracy A.
Colleen L.
Linda
Thank you for supporting your community independent bookstore, and happy holidays!

Sincerely,
Rebecca Stimpson
82 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02482
781-431-1160