Wellesley Books Newsletter | September 1st, 2021
Out with the old & in with the new: our End-of-Season Gift Sale is in full swing! In addition to the taster on our sidewalk, we have two tables in our Used Book Cellar full of housewares, jewelry, and other useful bits and bobs. (Personal favorites include: a tea towel that's too sassy for the newsletter.) Our gift department will bring a decidedly autumnal vibe to the bookstore just in time for New Release Season--think hygge, the smell of a new book, mugs full of hot mulled cider, a dramatic reduction in humidity...
Upcoming Events
Wednesday, October 6th at 7:00 PM, Anthony Doerr joins us in person to discuss his hauntingly beautiful new novel, Cloud Cuckoo Land.

The heroes of Cloud Cuckoo Land are trying to figure out the world around them: Anna and Omeir, on opposite sides of the city walls during the 1453 siege of Constantinople; teenage idealist Seymour in an attack on a public library in present day Idaho; and Konstance, on an interstellar ship bound for an exoplanet, decades from now. Like Marie-Laure and Werner in All the Light We Cannot See, Anna, Omeir, Seymour, and Konstance are dreamers and outsiders who find resourcefulness and hope in the midst of peril.
Did you love Olive Kitteridge?
Wednesday, October 27th at 7:00 PM, Elizabeth Strout joins us in person to discuss Oh William!, her new novel featuring the iconic heroine Lucy Barton.

Through her “careful words and reverberating silences” (The New York Times), Elizabeth Strout has long captured readers’ hearts with spare, exquisite insights on family, relationships, and loss. Oh William! recounts Lucy's complex, tender relationship with her first husband—and longtime, on-again-off-again friend and confidant. Recalling their college years, through the birth of their daughters, the painful dissolution of their marriage, and the lives they built with other people, Strout weaves a portrait, stunning in its subtlety, of a decades-long partnership.
Did you love A Gentleman in Moscow?
Thursday, November 4th at 6:00PM, Amor Towles presents The Lincoln Highway, his stylish and propulsive new novel set in 1950s America. Amor will be in conversation with Richard Russo, author of Empire Falls.
"Towles’ third novel is even more entertaining than his much-acclaimed A Gentleman in Moscow...A remarkable blend of sweetness and doom, [The Lincoln Highway] is packed with revelations about the American myth, the art of storytelling, and the unrelenting pull of history. An exhilarating ride through Americana."
–Kirkus

This event will take place online in partnership with Viking/Penguin and fellow indie bookstores Print: A Bookstore, Northshire Bookstore, and RJ Julia Booksellers.
And For Kids
Friday, September 10th at 7:00 PM (Online)
Elizabeth Lilly, author/illustrator of Geraldine, reads Let Me Fix You a Plate: A Tale of Two Kitchens, her wonderful picture book about a road trip to visit family.

"A storytelling feast for the whole family, no matter where you live."
–Kirkus
Tuesday, September 14th at 7:00 PM (Online)
G.Z. Schmidt, author of No Ordinary Thing, presents The Dreamweavers, a Chinese folklore-inspired fantasy adventure. During a trek to rescue their grandfather, 12-year-old twins Mei and Yun stop in the eerie City of Ashes, visit with the legendary, mystical Jade Rabbit, and encounter a powerful poet whose enchanted words spread curses.
Tonight! Boston.com Book Club
Join the Boston.com Book Club Wednesday, September 1st at 6pm for a virtual discussion with Wellesley Books co-owner Gillian Kohli and featured guest author Hanna Halperin on her novel, Something Wild.

Told in alternating perspectives that deftly interweave past and present, Something Wild is a magnetic, unflinching portrait of the bond between sisters, as well as a psychologically acute exploration of the legacy of divorce, the ways trauma reverberates over generations, and how it might be possible to overcome the past.

For more information about the Boston.com Book Club, or to register for this discussion, click here.
Bookseller Recommendations
Eliza recommends:
The Riviera House by Natasha Lester
As timeless and enchanting as the artwork tethering its two heroines, this novel tells the story of the art the Nazis endeavored to steal, the people who risked their lives to save it, and the legacy their stories have left behind. Somehow Lester gets it all right: a story that will keep you turning the pages without sparing historical accuracy or character development. Kate Quinn and Kristin Hannah readers rejoice!
Lucy recommends:
Velvet Was the Night by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
An atmospheric, character-driven noir set against the backdrop of the Mexican Dirty War on leftist activists in the 1970s. I loved that Moreno-Garcia wasn't afraid to give her protagonists flaws: secretary Maite lives for acts of petty theft and lying to her coworkers about her love life, and government thug Elvis doesn't let his sensitive, cultured side get in the way of doing his bloody job. Even so, as these two circle the same mystery, you can't help but root for them to find each other. Weaving these two storylines together, Moreno-Garcia expertly sheds light on a dark period in Mexican history.
Jane recommends:
Radiant Fugitives by Nawaaz Ahmed
Radiant Fugitives is a heartbreaking story of three Muslim women, told from the perspective of the unborn child of one. Seema is a lesbian, pregnant with her ex-husband's child, and immersed in the politics of the 2008 election. Her estranged sister, Tahera, a devout Muslim, and their mother Nafeesa, have joined her to await the birth of her child. Their painful interactions, expose not only the rifts in their personal histories, but also their experiences as members of different minority groups. This is a thought-provoking illustration of the difficulties we all have in understanding a differing point of view, especially pertinent now.
New in Hardcover
Honoree Fanonne Jeffers
William Kent Krueger
Louise Penny
Peter Heller


Jenny Rosenstrach
Pat Barker
Paula Hawkins
Lemony Snicket
Mike Duncan
New in Paperback
Niall Williams
Liese O'Halloran Schwarz
Riley Sager
Helen Hoang
Daisy Johnson
Katrine Engberg
Freya Sampson
Emily Gray Tedrowe
Heather Young
Bookseller Recommendations for Kids and Teens
Ashleigh recommends:
Forestborn by Elayne Audrey Becker
Absolutely exquisite! I want to vanish deep into the forest to read this book and never return...at least until the sequel is here! It is a stellar fantasy debut with powerful character arcs forged on a desperate quest; wholly original magic; enthralling world building; and abundant plot twists. Becker does many things very well, but two stand out to me: 1. Create a vivid and impressive character of the land and nature in which her human and magical beings exist. 2. Tackle serious social justice issues, confronting bigotry, man-made borders, violence, and environmental destruction within high fantasy. Fans of Tamora Pierce, The Books of Pellinor, the Abhorsen series and the Chronicles of Narnia will adore this quest to help a friend that may just save the entire world.
Rebecca recommends:
Best Friend in the Whole World by Sandra Salsbury
This picture book has everything: humor, drama, pathos, pine cones. Roland the rabbit lives deep in the woods, all by himself, and is generally content...but sometimes he longs for a friend. Along comes Milton, a pine cone who happens to enjoy all of the same activities as Roland. But what if Milton is already someone else's Best Friend? As with Not Quite Narwhal, this is a charming book that also touches on some pretty elemental childhood concerns!
Middle-Grade Monthly: A Subscription Club
Middle-Grade Monthly is our new subscription service for kids ages 8-12! Each month our children's book buyer Lauren and school liaison Cassie will select a newly-released chapter book. Get your hands on the newest and soon-to-be coveted books of the year. We offer monthly and yearly subscriptions, and you can pick up your book at the store or have it mailed to you. Click on the link below for FAQs about the program.

The September 2021 pick is Willodeen by Katherine Applegate. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Picture Book Subscription Club: A Perfect Gift!
A Child's Library is a subscription service for children ages 0-5! Lauren and Cassie select one newly-released picture book each month to be sent or picked-up from the store. The goal of A Child's Library is to help foster a love for books within the child's home. It makes a great baby shower gift!

The September 2021 pick is The Shape of Home by Rashin Kheiriyeh. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Books to Celebrate Kindness & Community
Cynthia Leitich Smith, Cornelius Van Wright & Ying-Hwa Hu
Gracey Zhang


Monique Gray Smith,
Nicole Neidhardt




Cori Doerrfeld
The Fan Brothers




Philip C. Stead & Erin E. Stead
New Releases for Kids & Teens
Jamie Sumner
Nic Stone
Stuart Gibbs
LeBron James
Janet Fox
Charis Cotter
Allison Varnes
David Levithan &
 Jennifer Niven
In the Gift Department
What We're Reading
Lauren
Colleen L.
Gillian
Dog of the Week
Nick
This slightly concerned-looking chap is called Nick. A 6.5 month-old rescue from Aruba, he and his giant puppy-paws live with bookseller extraordinaire Sofia. According to Sofia, his likes and dislikes are as follows:

"Likes: hunting flies in our apartment, chasing birds outside, sitting with me when I read, ice cubes, sticks, tearing apart cardboard boxes, sleeping under the couch, and trying to eat trash on the street

Dislikes: when I don't let him eat trash on the street, baths, leaving the dog park, staying up late, being brushed, when people sit on his spot on the couch"

He's always bounce-off-the-walls excited to see Sofia when she gets home from work, and is a very good boy.
Thank you for supporting your community independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
Rebecca Stimpson
82 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02482
781-431-1160