Wellesley Books Newsletter | March 17th, 2021
This week's newsletter is full of good vibes for you! Spring is heating up with exciting events—including Emily St. John Mandel, Andrew Morton, Paula McClain, and J. Courtney Sullivan—and hot new cookbooks from the likes of Giada De Laurentiis and Sam Sifton. It's Women's History Month, too, and Passover and Easter are just around the corner—we have some great books for your young ones. We're also featuring "Good Vibes" at the front of the store for anyone looking for feel-good fiction: This is How You Lose the Time War, The House in the Cerulean Sea, In Five Years, and The Two Lives of Lydia Bird to name a few. It's a one-stop shop to welcome in the beginning of spring!
Upcoming Online Events
Friday, March 19th at 7:00 PM
Kids, don your jammies and join us for a Bedtime Story with the author/illustrator herself! Jessixa Bagley reads Daisy, a picture book for any kid who has trouble fitting in and marches to the beat of their own drum.

This online event will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Friday, March 26th at 7:00 PM
Kids, don your jammies and join us for a Bedtime Story with the author herself! Jane Yolen reads Bear Outside, a picture book about having bear-sized inner strength.

This online event will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Friday, March 26th at 7:00 PM
Katie Lee Biegel, author, influencer, and star of Food Network's The Kitchen, presents It's Not Complicated: Simple Recipes for Every Day, her new cookbook of favorite recipes that are easy, yet exciting—and always delicious. Katie will be in conversation with Gretta Monahan, lifestyle expert and founder of Gretta Luxe.

This online event is ticketed and will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Tuesday, March 30th at 7:00 PM
Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven, joins us to celebrate the paperback release of her bestselling 2020 novel, The Glass Hotel. Emily will be in conversation with Lily King, author of Writers & Lovers.

This online event is ticketed and will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Wednesday, March 31st at 7:00 PM
Andrew Morton, author of Diana: Her True Story, presents Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters. Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight.

This online event will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Tuesday, April 13th at 7:00 PM
Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife, presents When the Stars Go Dark, an atmospheric novel of intertwined destinies and heart-wrenching suspense. Paula will be in conversation with Dani Shapiro, author of Inheritance.

This online event is ticketed and will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Thursday, April 29th at 7:00 PM
J. Courtney Sullivan, author of Maine and Saints For All Occasions, joins us to celebrate the paperback release of her 2020 bestseller, Friends and Strangers. Courtney will be in conversation with Rumaan Alam, author of Rich and Pretty and his latest, Leave the World Behind.

This online event is ticketed and will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Bookseller Recommendations
Cassie recommends:
Honey Girl by Morgan Rogers
Grace Porter, PhD, 28 has spent the last 11 years of her life rigorously studying to become The Best in the field of Astronomy. It’s all part of her and her military father’s Plan. To celebrate her graduation, Porter goes to Vegas with a couple friends. And she wakes up with muddled memories of the previous night, a ring on her finger, and a note from her wife on the hotel’s bedside table. This was not part of The Plan. For the star girls, the earth girls, the lonely creatures, the girls who have to fight for their place in the world, the girls with flowers in their hair and the ones who love them - this book’s for you. A tender and intimate coming of age-romance that emphasizes self love and found families -- Honey Girl is a soothing balm.
Sally recommends:
How Beautiful We Were by Imbolo Mbue
A small African village is being destroyed by Pexton - an American oil company that has been poisoning its inhabitants. The villagers employ a journalist to convey interest in this plight to America. The story is told through various voices, the children of the village and a generation of their families. Thula, a young girl from the village, moves to New York to study and becomes militant in her views while there, hoping to start a revolution which will free her village and reclaim their land. This is a beautifully written novel by the author of Behold the Dreamers.
Sofia recommends:
Finlay Donovan is Killing It by Elle Cosimano
Finlay Donovan is many things. She's a divorced mother of two, an author of romance murder mysteries, and now--accidentally--a hit woman. When a stranger overhears Finlay talking about her "next big hit" with her editor in a Panera, she hires Finlay to kill her husband and won't take no for an answer. Outrageous, laugh out loud funny, and filled with twists and turns, this is one that you don't want to miss! I LOVED this book!
New in Cookbooks
Jesse Tyler Ferguson
and Julie Tanous
Betty Liu
Lauren Toyota
Giada De Laurentiis
Rodney Scott
& Lolis Eric Elie
New in Hardcover
Hala Alyan
Walter Isaacson
SJ Bennett
Donna Leon
Harlan Coben
Elliot Ackerman and Admiral James Stavridis
Laurie Elizabeth Flynn
Nadine Matheson
New in Paperback
Kate Quinn
Daniel Kehlmann
Joshua Hammer
Miranda Popkey
Daina Ramey Berry
& Kali Nicole Gross
Gill Hornby
John Feinstein
New! Middle-Grade Subscription Club!
We're thrilled to announce a new subscription service for kids ages 8-12! Each month, our school liaison, Rachael, and children's buyer, Lauren, will select a newly released chapter book. Get your hands on the newest and soon-to-be coveted books of the year. We offer monthly and yearly subscriptions, and you can pick the book up from the store or have it mailed to you. Click on the link below for our FAQs about the program.

The March 2021 pick is The Thieving Collectors of Fine Children's Books by Adam Perry. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Picture Book Subscription Club: A Perfect Gift!
A Child's Library is a subscription service for children ages 0-5! Lauren, our children's book buyer, selects one newly released picture book each month to be sent or picked-up from the store. The goal of A Child's Library is to help foster a love for books within the child's home. It makes a great baby shower gift!

The March 2021 pick is Once Upon a Dragon's Fire by Beatrice Blue. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Bookseller Recommendations for Young Adults
Ashleigh recommends:
The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna
Utterly incredible. I'm in awe of Namina Forna's imagination and capacity to write so many characters, human, immortal, and creature, who resonate and connect so intensely. Queer-friendly, strong character diversity, intense female empowerment, and a bit of romance amidst a lot of magic, fantasy and overthrowing the patriarchy - fantastic. The Alaki women are phenomenal and I have the utmost respect for the depths of sisterhood forged between these women. They are brutalized and outcast from their born-families and ultimately finding refuge and power with their found-sisters. The ending, with its excellent twists and reveals, sets up well for the series, while also giving an immensely satisfying conclusion. I highly recommend for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Nnedi Okorafor, Tamora Pierce, Alison Croggon, and Akwaeke Emezi.
Books for Women's History Month
Annette Bay Pimentel
Books for Passover
Susan Kusel

Alan Silberberg
Vivian Kirkfield
Tomie dePaola
Books for Easter
Anna Dewdney
Tomie dePaola
Hans Wilhelm


Jory John
and Pete Oswald

Jan Brett
New Releases
Corinna Luyken
Angeline Boulley
In the Gift Department



From felted bouquets by Silk Road Bazaar to chocolate Easter bunnies, the gift department has you covered for spring. Welcome the warm weather with hand-painted chocolate from Maggie Louise, lemon leaf and fresh-cut basil soaps and hand creams from Thymes, jars of colorful sprinkles from The Gourmet Baking Co, and spring-inspired cookie cutters from the Handstand Kitchen. Plus all the Jellycats bunnies, lambs, and little ducks you'll need while you lay outside in the sunshine!
What We're Reading
Lauren
Jess
Dog of the Week
Meet Ellie
Now here's a puppy who knows what's good: steak! Ellie, a 4 year-old Parson Russell terrier, is a super sweet and loyal companion, but if you ask her to eat dog food, potato, rice, chicken, or fish she's going to be like, No thanks! She prefers her steak and eats one a week. Out of curiosity, is there a side of vegetable you prefer, Ellie, or is that off limits too?
Thank you for supporting your community independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
Wellesley Books
82 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02482
781-431-1160