The 2020 N.C. 4-H Hippology Contest was held on March 7 at NC State University. Twenty-four Senior Rookies and 61 Junior Rookies competed in the Hippology event for the first time! In the senior division, there were 70 contestants and 15 teams. The junior division featured 66 contestants and 18 teams. Ten Cloverbud contestants also navigated stations and placed two classes: Quarter Horse halter and Hunter Under Saddle.

Rookie Division:
Jr Champion: Emmary McCall, Transylvannia
Sr Champion: Elayna Samson, Duplin

Junior Division:
Jr Horseman of the Year: Saona Wilcox, Alamance
Res. Jr Horseman of the Year: Jenna Garrison, Burke
Champion Team: Alamance Team 1 coached by Reagan Riddell

Senior Division:
Sr Horseman of the Year : Abi Burgess, Alamance
Res. Sr Horseman of the Year : Hannah Williams, Union
Champion Team : Alamance coached by Lindsey Riddell