Thursday, December 28, 2017


For over 15 years, Kybele has been a global leader in teaching safe childbirth and protecting the lives of countless women and infants worldwide. With your support, this year 65 Kybele team members donated their time and expertise to train more than 400 health care professionals in Ghana, Armenia, Bosnia, and Serbia. The tremendous impact of our work has been recognized by national governments and bilateral aid agencies, and we have been asked to scale-up our existing initiatives and to expand our efforts into new countries.
This year, Kybele had five scientific publications accepted in high-impact journals. Kybele was even featured on the cover of the internationally renowned journal Anesthesiology. The accompanying feature highlighted our eight-year partnership in Armenia that culminated in the development of obstetric anesthesia practice guidelines. Another highly acclaimed manuscript was published in PLoS One. This publication centered on the cost analysis of our novel, hospital-based quality improvement initiative that was created by Kybele and the Ghana Health Service. Through this unique, five-year program, we estimate that
236 maternal and 129 stillbirth deaths were prevented at the astounding cost of only $158 per life saved!  This is one of the first studies of this type in medical literature.
In this season of celebration, we want to express our gratitude for your contribution to this work and invite you to continue to partner with us. More than ever, opportunities abound for Kybele to grow and expand our life-saving work. No woman should die while giving life. We invite you to join our fight against the leading cause of death and disability among women worldwide. Thank you for your generosity and support.

With gratitude,
Medge Owen Sig
Medge D. Owen, M.D.
President, Kybele, Inc.
Professor Obstetric Anesthesia
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Medical Director of Global Health
Novant Health Maya Angelou Women's Health and Wellness Center
Board of Directors and Staff
Medge Owen, MD - President
Holly Muir, MD - Vice-President
Curtis Baysinger, MD
Fiona Bryce, MD 
Lisa Councilman Corbett, MD
Lawrence Fordjour, MD
Ronald George, MD
Matt Hatch, MD 
Rohit Ramaswamy, PhD
Melvin Seid, MD
Ann Smith, NNP
Leigh Stanfield

Sebnem Ucer, Accounts Manager
Erin Pfeiffer, Grants Manager/Program Coordinator
Kimber Whanger, Marketing & Administrative   
Elizabeth Colburn, Administrative Assistant 
Dayne Logan, Editor