Contact: Anne Silavs, Superintendent
DECEMBER 17, 2018
Cypress School District Installs Board Members During Organizational Meeting

On December 13, 2018, Sandra Lee, Bonnie Peat, and Lydia Sondhi, Ph.D., were administered the oath of office for a four-year term on the Cypress School District Board of Trustees. Both Trustees Lee and Sondhi were first elected to the Board in 2014 and are returning to serve a second term in office. All three Board Members ran unopposed during the November 2018 election cycle.

Trustee Peat is the district’s newest Board Member, filling the seat vacated by Donna McDougall, who retired from the Board for a second time. Trustee Peat is a lifetime resident of Cypress. She grew up in Cypress in a time when dairy farms were very prevalent. Her family moved from their dairy farm in the mid-'60s to make way for the development of Swain Elementary School. She lives in the home she grew up in with her husband Jon and son Michael. She earned a degree in finance at California State University, Fullerton and is currently employed by Parker Hannifin as Vice President of Business Development.

“I am very excited to be a Trustee for the Cypress School District and to use my years of business experience in my local community. It is a great school district, and I look forward to working closely with the other Trustees and Superintendent Silavs to continue the great work they have done,” said Trustee Peat.

Superintendent Anne Silavs stated, “The Cypress School District has been blessed with a long history of strong and effective Board leadership. We are thrilled that Bonnie is joining our governance team and the Cypress School District family!”

The Board Meeting also included special presentations. Trustee McDougall was honored for her 28 years of dedicated Board service in the district, and Trustee Sondhi was recognized for providing outstanding leadership as Board President during 2018. As part of its annual reorganization, the Board elected new officers for 2019. Trustee Lee will serve as President, Trustee Kern will serve as Vice President, Trustee Nakamura will serve as Clerk, and Trustee Peat will serve as the Board’s Parliamentarian. They also appointed Board representatives for a number of district, city, and county committees.

The next regular meeting of the Cypress School District Board of Trustees is January 17, 2019. For a full listing of scheduled Board Meetings, please visit the Cypress School District website at
Sandra Lee
Bonnie Peat
Lydia Sondhi, Ph.D.